March Wrap-Up

typewritercoffeeflowers

We’ve survived another month! Woohoo! One day, I swear I’m going to stop starting these wrap up posts with a declaration of how surprised I am that I made it through yet another month continuously blogging. But I’m still so psyched and happy with myself for even having the discipline to keep up this blog for now three (three!!) months in a row that I’m just going to ride out this joy.

Usually, for me, March is a killer of inspiration and creativity and the will to do much other than just sit around and wait for March to be over. And while it was still partially like that, my fight to make it not entirely so was a little more successful than it has been in the past. So without further ado, let’s get started talking about how March went for this…

Blog

Ah, the blog. Well, it’s still here going strong, ain’t it? So that’s certainly a good thing. I count that as a win already. I wrote 4 blog posts which is keeping with my goal of writing four blog posts a month for 2017, but I did say I was going to write 5 in March to make up for only doing 3 in February. So… okay, didn’t technically make that goal, but I did go through a bit of a slightly more intense than usual period in March where I was struggling to even think of what to write and hating everything I write (I say only slightly more intense because that’s pretty much the norm for me… sigh). But I’ve made it through that and have a lot of posts actually planned and soon to be queued up once they’re ya know… written. So we’ll do five posts for April instead.

The other goals I’d set for myself were to write a greater variety of posts which I did. I’ve finally written posts for all three of the topics that I say I’m going to write for this blog. Woohoo! And lastly, I did want to engage more with the blogs of people I follow which… sort of happened? But certainly not nearly as much as I intended. So there’s some room for improvement I suppose.

April Blogging Goals: Actually write 5 blog posts (like for real this time), continue to write a wider variety of posts, engage with other blogger’s blogs

Books

Books, books, books. What to say about books. Well, for starters, I read some. Which ones? These ones:

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay
Soulless by Gail Carriger
The Turner House by Angela Flournoy

You’ll notice that’s only three books I’ve read this month. Which means combined with the other ones I’ve read this year, I’ve only read 10 books so far toward my goal of 52 this year. I am slightly behind. I’m not too worried about it yet, but April will be a playing catch up month. Also, I did not post any book reviews last month. So I need to post some book reviews this month. And which books do I have on my list to read for this month? So many. Too many. But the ones I’m most looking forward to are:

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (I was supposed to read this in March but wasn’t mentally prepared for what I’m pretty will be an emotionally heavy read)
Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson
Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman

April Book Goals: Catch up or read at least 4 books this month, post reviews for The Turner House and Soulless

Writing and Editing

The editing thing is still lagging behind. The short stories have not been written. I’ve browsed literary journals to submit to but haven’t actually… ya know, submitted anything. This year so far has not been great as it relates to my journey of publication. I recognize I need to give myself a kick in the butt where that is concerned.  I thought signing up for April’s CampNanoWrimo would do this for me, but… I’ll need to make a bit more of an effort on that front considering until just now, six whole days into the month, I completely forgot I was signed up and supposed to be doing CampNano. Whoops. So, the writing goals for this month will be fairly familiar. Let’s see that I actually do them this month though.

April Writing Goals: participate in CampNano and put some effort into it dude, FINALLY finish that read through of Breaking the Curse, finish A Favor, submit to magazine by deadline

Life and Travel

Hmm, life in March. Life in March was a pretty mixed bag. Again, it wasn’t terrible, but it’s not a month I particularly look forward to or usually have anything fun going on in (note to self: schedule a future trip in March so March will be a month to look forward to).

Some fun things that did happen in March: I got to go to a HUGE book sale and snagged so many books for not much money. I got to help do a mural for a dog park and met so many wonderful dogs. My sister turned 21 and I can FINALLY take her to some of my favorite Seattle places when she comes to visit. I read some fantastic books. I reconnected once again with friends in real life and my writing friends online. I finally signed up for a photography class. And I got a new computer which I am currently using and obsessed with (and not just because my old computer crapped out on me and I had to get a new one. I just got this one cause I wanted to and now I have two working computers. It’s wild, man).

Some not so fun things that happened in March: I got a pretty bad stomach bug that knocked me out for a bit. I did not meet my diet and exercise goals at all… and I probably could have stood to leave the house and do more.

So I guess in comparison, there was more good than bad that happened in March. And hey, I’ll take it. No complaints whatsoever here.

April Life and Travel Goals: complete photography class, hang out more with friends IRL, get back on track with diet and exercise in preparation for possible June trip

 

And I guess that concludes it. As usual, I would love to hear about you guys and your goals. What are you most looking forward to April? May all your Aprils be filled with goal-smashing, sunshine, and flowers! (please, Seattle, please stop raining).

 

Photo found here.

