4 Things I Regret After Traveling

cameratravelregrets1

My poor, neglected camera.

When I first started this blog, I had every intention of dedicating part of it to travel. It’s in the tagline, it’s in my bio, and it’s even got a sad little empty page up at the very top supposed to link to all the travel posts I’ve ever made (zero, up until now). But this aspect of the blog has been neglected for years. And it’s not like I’ve been neglecting it because I haven’t traveled. In fact, I’ve been around quite a bit. From Italy to Ireland to New Orleans and more. I’ve decided it’s finally time to bring this part of my blog alive.

So naturally, the first travel post I’m making is about things I regret after I travel. Great way  to start, am I right?  I’m hoping this doesn’t seem negative. I’m really making this in hopes that the next time I travel, I can look this over and remind myself ahead of time what I may regret, therefore helping me make better decisions during my travel and enriching the experience as much as possible. And hey, isn’t that what we’re all trying to do?

So, without further ado, let’s get started.

1. Not Taking Enough Pictures/Not Taking Enough Good Pictures

Maybe this one seems silly, but one thing I constantly regret when I return from a trip is not taking enough pictures. It doesn’t matter if I’ve taken 600 or 5. I always wonder if I could have done more. It’s not so much a superficial thing as it sounds. I just love reliving my travel experiences, and an easy way to do this is through pictures. But that’s hard to do when you come back and realize you barely took any (sorry, Calgary).

Here’s the problem: I find myself in one of two predicaments- I’m either too caught up in the moment (not that this is a bad thing) to even think about taking pictures or I have, once again, left my good camera at home. Bums me out every time. And if I do find myself prepared with my camera and ready to take some pictures, there always comes the moment where I don’t know how to take a picture that’s not just a generic snapshot, but that really captures an aspect of the place I’m in. I guess the latter is something that changes as you become a better photographer, but it can certainly be frustrating nonetheless.

2. Lack of Research

This is one that’s a bit embarrassing. If I’m travelling somewhere, I should do my research so I know what exactly to do and what I want to do when I get there, right? And yet.

Sometimes I get so caught up in reading (fictional) books about the place, watching movies, looking at pretty pictures, learning about cultural do’s and don’t’s and trying my hand at the language (not that any of these are bad things), that by the time I get there, I realize I don’t know where to go or what to do or see.

I’m a big fan of spontaneity and going with the flow, but there are times I really wish I would have given myself at least an outline to go by so I can have a plan for when I arrive. My boyfriend is much better at this than I am and now that we travel together it’s all a bit better, but this is something I recognize I need to do better, especially for when I choose to travel solo again. I still would call myself a relatively new traveler, not at all like the seasoned wanderers I so admire, so maybe this is, yet again, something that comes with experience. Or, ya know, just better planning…

3. Forgetting My Notebook

This is another one that’s a bit embarrassing considering I’m a writer and I should have this down by now. But I often forget to bring a journal or notebook with me to record thoughts, sights, etc. when I’m out an about. When I do remember to do this, it always seems to pay off, particularly when it comes to the part about reliving the experience (and it probably also would come in handy in the writing part of that too, if I ever got around to writing about any of my adventures in a timely manner).

But I’m embarrassed to say I forget to take along my notebook more often than not, or to even use it if I do bring it. Please, future Chelsea: let’s fix this.

4. Not Blogging About My Travels

This is pretty self-explanatory. And hopefully one that will be fixed in the future. It’s not so much my concern that I don’t blog about my travels, but rather, that I don’t blog about them soon enough, while the trip is still fresh in my mind.

I understand that sometimes it takes a minute to reflect  on the trip, and decide what it is you want to say. But for me, the time seems to go by so quickly and then I get distracted and then I make excuse after excuse to not blog about my travels. And I decide I’ll just begin the next time, after my next trip. Wash, rinse, repeat. But at the end of the day, I do love blogging, and I do love travel, and these are the things I really hope to learn how combine whether it’s been a couple of days since the trip or a couple of years.

Well, how about you? Do you have any things you regret after you travel? Feel the same about anything I listed? Let me know and thanks for reading. 🙂

 

One thought on “4 Things I Regret After Traveling

Leave a Reply

