February Wrap-Up

worldmapnotebook

And here we are again! Another month and…I haven’t kicked this blog into a ditch to die a sad and lonely death yet? Well, that’s unusual. Usually February is a hard month for me to keep up with blog-wise because of birthday and Valentines Day planning in the first half and then general seasonal mood swings in the latter half. But since I know that’s what typically happens to me in February, I made sure I was relatively prepared, and did my best to throw myself into my writing to combat it. It turned out all right-ish.

Now let’s get down to the specifics.

Blog

I only managed to write three blog posts, thus missing my goal to get in four each month but… I’m not too broken up about it. Honestly, I’m just happy I’m still here with this blog, sticking it through. I’ll do five in March to make up for it.

One of my goals for the month was to engage more with other bloggers and find new blogs to follow. I found some great blogs to follow, but it’s still the engaging with other bloggers part I’m working on. Still, it was an improvement over January. I’ll take it.

March blogging goals: Write 5 blog posts, write a wider variety of posts, engage with bloggers of blogs I’m currently following

Books

I only managed to read three books this month which was pretty pathetic. I blame the first book I read, The Reader, which, though it was fantastic, took me FOREVER to get through. Thus, I ended up having to read some graphic novels at the last minute just to try to reach my goal (and I’m still behind by 1 book). I feel nothing is wrong with this, as I love graphic novels, but this month I want to actually focus on reading something I can’t finish in a couple of hours.

The books I read were as follows:

The Reader by Traci Chee
Akira, Vol. 1 by Katsuhiro Otomo
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur by Amy Reeder

I’m currently reading:

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

And will soon be reading:

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Sula by Toni Morrison
The Turner House by Angela Flournoy
…and whatever the hell else I want.

March reading goals: get on track for reading goal of 52 books, and post at least 2 reviews

Writing and Editing

Well, I’m just gonna come right out and say it: I didn’t meet either of my writing goals I set out for myself for February. Blargh. But that’s not to say I didn’t do any good writing. I did manage to break through writer’s block as it related to my short stories. I didn’t finish A Favor, but I did write a large chunk of it, and rediscover a love for that story that had faded for a while. And while I STILL haven’t edited a word of Breaking the Curse (that editing goal is seeming further and further away…), I did manage to write up an outline for a brand new novella that I ‘m thinking of writing for CampNano coming up in April. And I’ve focused in on a new novel idea that might be the next big one I devote all my time and energy to. So, trade offs, right?

I’m sorry BTC charaters… I promise I’ll stop ignoring you soon.

March: Finish “A Favor,” finish read through of BTC and plan editing schedule, begin outlining for CampNano novella and BNN (big new novel)

Life and Travel

The beginning of February and the end of February were like two completely different worlds. I came into the month excited, like I usually do for one of my favorite holidays of the year (my birthday… wait, what’s the other one?) and the fact that I would be in New Orleans for that time only helped.

New Orleans was everything I wanted it to be. I came in expecting transcendentally good food, and amazing music, and I got both of those and introduction to some real life southern hospitality that I’d previously thought was just a myth. I was able to stay with and meet for the first time in person one of my writing buddies of four years. She and her husband are two of the kindest people I’ve ever met, and honestly, so were pretty much all the people we came into contact with down there. And being able to  be surrounded by so many other brown people (an experience I do not get often enough in Seattle) was a reward of its own.

And then we had to come back and… to say it was a bummer would be putting it lightly. It’s always hard to come back home after a vacation, especially when you’re just not ready to yet. But it’s even harder to come back in the middle of February. It’s around this time that I start feeling like winter has gone on long enough and I just need sunlight and warmth and spring. The gloom of the day gets me introspective and grumpy, and I usually end up bullying myself about how I’ve spent 25 years on the planet and have nothing to show for it (yes, inner Chelsea is a bitch).

Luckily, I was expecting this, and was able to curb slightly, by realizing what was happening. So I worked to throw myself into my writing to ignore it, and, what do you know… it mostly worked. It’s only been a few days, and we still have March to get through which is another hard month for me, but at the end of the day, I’m happy to say I think this blogging thing is working to keep me relatively sane through this winter. And that’s all I can ask for.

March life and travel goals: continue to get back on track die and exercise-wise, take more pictures, leave the house more, reconnect with friends, begin planning for summer road trip 

As usual, I’d love to hear about you guys too! How was your February? Did you accomplish your goals? What are you looking forward to for March?

Thanks for reading everyone. Here’s to a kick-ass,  goal-smashing March!

 

Photo found here.

 

2 thoughts on “February Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

