A (Late) Wrap-Up

januaryroundupphoto

We’re over halfway through February and of course I’m just managing to put together a month end blog post for last month. Go figure. I have some pretty good reasons for why this is all happening so late. I had a big trip and my birthday in the beginning of the month and it threw some blog scheduling off… but I’ll save that update for another post.

Anyway, I’ve decided I  want to start writing some “monthly roundups” at the end of every month on this blog. This is partly because I want to share what’s going on in my life outside of some of the posts I already make, and partly because at the end of the year I think it will be valuable to look at these posts, see what I did, what I can be proud of, what I can improve on, and use all this to figure out what I want to accomplish next. So in these posts, I’ll focus on how I’m doing as it relates to blogging, reading, writing, travel and life in general.

So here we go!

Blog

I managed to stick to my goal and write four blog posts in January. I can’t say any of them were my favorites, but the month was a lot of easing back into the routine of writing and blogging (as my Januarys tend to be) and I’m pretty proud that I was able to post weekly-ish. I also changed my blog’s theme and re-did my about me section, which I think I’m satisfied with for now. However, I didn’t engage as much as I would like to with other bloggers. The downside of being both shy and awkward.

February blogging goals: post at least four blog posts (even though I only have… what, thirteen days left? Whoops) Also, engage more with other blogger and blogs I already follow, and seek out some new blogs to read.

Books

I read 4 books for this month which made me on track for my goal of 52. Of those four, two were YA fiction, one was nonfiction, and another was a graphic novel. I only managed to review two of them so far, though I’m hoping I’ll get a chance to get the rest of those out before the month’s end. One thing I loved about my selections and did mostly unconsciously this month was read books exclusively by POC about POC. This is something I hope to continue throughout the year (though I won’t be too strict with myself if there’s a book I desperately want to read that doesn’t fit this criteria). My only wish is that I could read faster. Why are there always so many books and not enough time?

The books I read were as follows:

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon
American Street by Ibi Zoboi
Rhythm Ride: A Road Trip Through the Motown Sound by Andrea Davis Pinkney
Chi’s Sweet Home, Part 1 by Kanata Konami

February reading goals: Read four books and catch up on reviews.

Writing and Editing

My writing suffered in January, creatively at least. I didn’t write a single short story, poem… anything really. Sure, I dedicated a lot more writing time to keeping up with this blog, so it’s not like I wasn’t writing at all, but I had hoped to tackle some more of those other writing goals I’d outlined in the beginning of the year. I recognize that I need to strike more of a balance so I’m challenging myself figure out how to do that and then do it in the future.

I’m also slightly embarrassed to admit that editing for Breaking the Curse didn’t happen much in January. I wanted to focus on actually fleshing out some of the world for my novel and I managed to do a bit of that, but not nearly as much as I would have preferred. This is partially due to lack of balance, as I mentioned before, and also a lack of direction because of the newness of this whole editing a humongous project thing. Hopefully I’ll be able to remedy that sooner rather than later.

February writing and editing goals: Create editing schedule and deadlines, finish “A Favor” (short story)

Life and Travel

January was an… interesting ride. I’m not going to say it was the worse month ever, but it was really, really hard. I found myself needing to seek out happiness and reasons to be happy more and more. There was a whole lot of upsetting shit floating around. I’m sure I’m not the only one who felt this way.

But it was not devoid of good. And I’ll focus on some good things that happened to me. I was finally able to get through a running rut and reach a new goal. I felt the pay off of setting aside hours specifically for writing. I was able to stick to a relatively healthy diet and lost a bit of weight. I was able to attend a historic march in solidarity with over 200,000 other women. I met one of my writing buddies who I’ve known for four years for the first time. I was daily showered with love by the kids I nanny.

And as far as travel goes… well, I didn’t go anywhere new in January. That’s mostly because I was saving up for my February trip , so I’m not upset about it or anything. Although I absolutely can’t wait to talk about where I’ve been on the next one of these 😉

February life and travel goals: practice positivity, continue to improve communication, get back on track diet and exercise-wise, plan more outings around the city, take more pictures

How about you? How was your January? Do you feel like you were able to accomplish your goals? And what sorts of goals did you set for February? Are you accomplishing them so far? It’s so hard to remember that we’re already halfway through February, even if I still feel like my month is just beginning.

As usual, thanks for taking the time to read. 🙂

 

Photo found here.

Leave a Reply

