Where I’ve Been

Here I go again, making yet another glamorous return to the blog-o-sphere after two months of silence.

Whatever, though. I have no shame anymore. This blog can rot for all I care!

… no, just kidding. I’ve gone too far and have become too attached, despite my frequent hiatuses. Which is really the subject of this whole post. I figured I’ve give a little update as to what I’ve been up to and what this grand adventure called life has been like as of late.

Which is kind of sad because I haven’t done much in the way of adventuring. Just the daily grind of life in Seattle. I’ve been working. And dividing my writing time between actually writing and crying over how I suck at writing. And daydreaming over all the books I want to read, but getting stuck on only one for a month. And attempting to be better at this health & fitness thing. And still kind of bumbling about with my boyfriend and friends as we all try to figure out what it is we want to do in life. I’m not sure any of us are any closer to finding it out, but to be honest, sometimes the bumbling about part can be kind of fun when I’m not crying about it.

As far as work goes, things have been business as usual. I like the kids (mostly), and enjoy my time with them, and they enjoy it with me. But lately, what makes the job especially enjoyable is when there are children of the furred variety at the house. Particularly dogs. And while I don’t share pictures of the kids I watch, there’s no rule against sharing pictures of the dogs, right? So here are some I’ve gotten to hang with lately. Oh, and a bonus neighborhood cat.

As far as writing goes, my mind is all a muddle. I have too many projects I’m trying to keep track of at the moment (articles, short stories, revisions, scripts, blog posts, oh my!) and I’m not making much progress on anything. I suppose this is what it means to overextend yourself, but I wouldn’t be me if I wasn’t doing exactly that now would I?

As far as reading goes, I just finished Egg & Spoon by Gregory Maguire which took me FOREVER to get through, but which I thoroughly enjoyed and definitely recommend. It’s beautifully written and possesses many of the elements and much of the whimsy I love to see in a fantasy story that doesn’t take itself too seriously. It’s also prompted me to turn to some more YA fantasy. Next on the list is Seraphina by Rachel Hartman, which I cannot wait to begin.

As far as health and fitness goes, well… it’s going. March and February were rough, but April has been my get back on the wagon month, and I’ve been doing that, slowly. Also, I started an health and fitness Instagram for some reason which has nearly completed my sad descent into this weird #fitpeople world. Strange times are among us.

As far as travel goes… prepare to see some pictures of tulips in the future. That’s all I’ll say.

And as far as life goes, well, I’m working at it.

Anyway, that’s where I’ve been. The end of February and the whole of March were largely uneventful and markedly as dreary as they always seem to be. I’ll need to figure out how to get past that next year. But for now: April.

I’ve got some stuff planned for this blog. No really, like legit planned as in I actually have some posts written and queued for once (posts related to the above topics, in fact). I hope to really get this blog going again in the coming month, without yet another unplanned hiatus. Cross your fingers and send good vibes my way. Prepare for the adventure of a lifetime.

… Well, not really, but thanks for reading this anyway. I hope to see you again soon.

 

Leave a Reply

