2015 Reflections, 2016 Projections


You know, normally I would start a post like this with an apology.

I always feel a bit guilty when I don’t update this blog for months and then come back and try to pretend nothing ever happened. I tend to treat it as if I  broke a promise to myself and whoever reads it to keep it updated and going strong.

But fuck that. I don’t want to apologize this time. And I’m not going to do that apology crap anymore because yes, I wasn’t able to keep this updated like I wanted, but I have an extremely good reason for not keeping up with this blog as much as I wanted to in 2015.

It’s because I wrote a novel.

I. Wrote. A. Novel. And I am still one hundred percent over the moon because of this (it’s the first one I’ve ever finished after all!). I’m so proud of myself for actually sticking through my big 2015 New Year’s resolution that to apologize for not keeping up with this blog because I was focusing so much time and energy on my novel just sounds… stupid. So nope. No apologies this time, sir. Besides 2015 was actually a pretty god year for me.

Noveling aside, I’ll admit that the only other resolution I really kept for the past year was to travel more, even if it wasn’t as far as I wanted to (Spain, Portugal, France, you’re still in my future!), Vancouver, Calgary, Portland and LA did not disappoint.

Sadly, I was not able to read as much as I normally would have, but what I did read was very varied. I read more nonfiction than I normally do (memoir are my jam, guys), as well as graphic novels and tons of books written by or about people of color, which is something I’ve wanted to do for a while. And while I wasn’t able to keep up with my clean eating goals like I wanted to last year, I did cook more, learn more about eating healthy and change a lot of my habits as far as food goes, something that will help significantly with this year’s goals.

Which brings me to this year’s goals. I have a ton of them organized on a word doc on my computer, but but I’m just going to list the big ones for here.

Writing
For writing I want to change up my direction a little bit, turning it away from just novel writing, which I’ve been concentrated on for years now, and focusing on other forms. But that’s not to say I’m going to just forget about my novel. Oh, no. It’s just going to sit and stew in my drawer for about 6 months until I can look at it with fresh eyes again.

-blog at least once a week
-write a script
-write a new short story every month
-begin editing Breaking the Curse in June

Books and Movies
I didn’t engage in much media at all last year so I really want to change that this year. I need more books in my life, and I need to explore more movies to watch myself, as opposed to always having my boyfriend pick them out for me (which is not a bad thing since he has killer taste, but I think some exploration of my own might do me some good).

-read and review at least 30 books
-watch 10 new movies of my choosing

Health
This is pretty much self-explanatory, as everyone seems to have a health goal. But I’m very serious about getting myself in better shape this year, and have created some ways to keep myself accountable.

-maintain healthier eating habits (80/20 rule)
-create and stick to a consistent workout plan that works for my schedule
-maintain a health goals journal and wall calendar to be updated every week concerning my progress.

Career
For the past few years I’ve worked as a nanny, which I absolutely love for the flexibility, the pay, and the kids. But it’s not something I want to do forever, and it’s time for me to start looking beyond. This is the goal I’m most uncertain about because, if I’m being honest, I can’t say I know exactly what I want to do for my career in the long-term. But I’m excited to begin figuring it out!

-explore long term career options
-apply to content writing positions
-continue to develop writing portfolio

—-

And those are some of my main goals for this year. I’ve got a lot more I could add to this list, goals which include improving my geography knowledge, improving my photography skills, and learning to play the ukulele. But the ones I listed are the main ones I hope and can really see myself actually accomplishing this year.

So how about you guys? How did your 2015 go? What are you looking forward to this year? Whether you have goals, resolutions or whatever, I’m sure this will be a year of change. And I know it’s cliche to say it, but fuck it, I believe 2016 is going to be great.

 

Leave a Reply

