January Book Haul!

DSC_0770So I never really got the point of these book hauls. I mean, where’s the fun in looking at all the books someone else got? It’s not useful like a review — you’re not learning anything from it, just admiring someone else’s shiny books that you don’t get to read. Then I made this blog and now I understand.

Oh.

It’s about bragging, right? The only thing better than looking at someone else’s books is bragging about your own and forcing other’s to look at them and be jealous (and to inspire conversation or something but it’s mostly the book envy) Am I right? Yes….? No…. Whatever! Point is, I’m doing my own!

This batch is a combination of books picked up from the library, used bookstores and bought new.

1. The Singer of All Songs – Kate Constable
2. On the Jellicoe Road – Melina Marchetta
3. Dark Triumph – Robin LaFevers
4. Forbidden #1 – Kimberley Griffiths Little
5. Cinder – Marissa Meyer
6. Where’d You Go Bernadette? –
7. Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction – Jeff Vandermeer
8: Saga, volume three (review for volumes 1&2 here) by Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples

Just look at these beauts!

DSC_0786

Aren’t

DSC_0785

They

DSC_0784

Pretty?!

So, uh yeah. I guess that’s about it for this post. I’m crazy excited to read all of these, but I must say Cinder and Where’d You Go Bernadette? are my top ones, if only because of all the hype surrounding them (don’t let me down hype!) Once I get around to reading all of these, though, I’ll actually post some more reviews. Until then, I hope I made you sufficiently jealous of my lovely stash of books. Cause that’s the point of these things… right? Am I right?

…will someone please tell me?

 

3 thoughts on “January Book Haul!

  1. Amanda says:

    Cinder Cinder Cinder Cinder Cinder!!! I’ve recently become obsessed with The Lunar Chronicles. I’ve read all three of the main books, and I’m currently reading Fairest (the prequel)! Also, if you like the series enough, Marissa Meyer has a Wattpad where she put almost all of the short stories about The Lunar Chronicles. The last short story can be obtained for free via email if you sign up for her newsletter.

    • chelree says:

      I finished Cinder earlier this month and it was marvelous! I immediately shot it to the top of my list because of your enthusiastic recommendation and glad I did. Stayed up until 3 in the morning to finish that one, haha! Now I’ve just got to get my hands on Scarlet… And thanks for telling me about the extra short stories available too. I’ll definitely make it a point of reading those.

  2. Amanda says:

    Yay! I’m glad you’re enjoying them!!! I only started reading them because I’m obsessed with the Rapunzel fairytale and the third one is based on Rapunzel so I read my way through them and they are now my new favorite series.

Leave a Reply

