Just Start.

If anything is going to be my mantra for the next month, that’s it.

NanoWrimo is upon us once again and somehow, much like the past four years, October has managed to slip by me and I’m looking back at the month and scratching my head, realizing that all the planning and preparation I thought I’d do in October has not happened. My outlines have gathered a new layer of dust, the coffee in my cabinet is non-existent, my walls are lacking in the sticky note/writing inspiration front, and I’ve visited the forums maybe three times since the site revamp. In some ways, I’m doing all right. I know what I’m writing and I’m excited to write it. But I’d be lying if I said I didn’t feel like I’m going into this like a pantser (which for me, equals disaster).

I’ll admit I’m a little scared.

I have a 4 year losing streak for Nano and it’s been a while since I’ve written anything that I feel passionate about. Combine that with me at last starting this blog (something I’ve been meaning I do for the past 5 months) and you have a, frankly, nervous Chelsea. It seems like whenever I get to finally concentrate on writing something that I think I’m going to love, the fear of failure tries to push me back out the door. What if I don’t win NanoWrimo and don’t even get past day 1? What if this blog falls into the murky waters where all of my other blogs have sunken? What if my writing endeavors just…don’t happen?

But I’ve long since given up on waiting for the Nano fairies and the blog pixies to come through and grant me the time, ideas, and vision I might need to succeed on these writing endeavors. And so I’m going to give myself one piece of advice that might actually get me through this, despite mistakes, failures and other bumps.

Just start.

It’s the best advice I can think of for myself, and the best I can give anyone else standing there looking at Nano or any other writing project and feeling the fear sinking in. Just start. The rest will come later.

Now, who’s with me?

4 thoughts on “Just Start.

  1. colinashby says:

    I did NaNoWriMo last year. Didn’t get to 50,000 but got 30,000. Have finished my novel now and currently editing it for self-publishing soon. The biggest piece of helpfulness I learned during NaNoWriMo is to have an outline.

    I know many don’t like to do outlines but it is SO HELPFUL in preventing writer’s block and so forth. Have at least a general gist of the beginning, middle and end you want for your novel. Know a list of scenes you want to put in.

    Good luck! Remember to never compare your beginning to someone else’s middle. You can do this!

    • chelree says:

      Thank you for the kind words and the helpful advice! I do agree, and think outlines are remarkably important for Nano and any writing project, really. I’ve got a very basic outline for the beginning of this novel, but no idea how to get to the ending or what that ending is, which tends to be what my struggle is for most outlines I make. Still, I’m hoping once I get into the swing of writing again, the story will begin to unfold and I’ll be able to figure out a better outline to guide me.

      And congrats on being so close to self-publishing! That’s definitely a dream of mine, and I admire people able to go that far, since I’m still in the first stage of writing my first manuscript. I’d love to hear more about how editing and publishing go for you. Good luck!

  2. Beca says:

    I will be by your side if you need me. I’m always here for you in spirit. Love you girl. I’m so proud of you for going after what you want. I definitely need to start doing the same. You are an inspiration and I’m so glad to call you a friend. Four years strong girl! ❤

    Keep writing and being yourself and everyone is going to fall in love with you.

    • chelree says:

      Aww, thanks so much love! I appreciate all the love and support and of course, it’s all right back at you. Thanks for always believing in me and being a rock. Things are going to go great for you too. We just have to make sure we always go for what we want 🙂

Leave a Reply

